Framework for One Health Practice in National Public Health Institutes

Contents: Importance of a One Health approach  …………………………………………………………………………………….  2 Role of Africa CDC and national public health institutes in improving public health …………. 5 Purpose of this One Health framework …………………………………………………………………………………….. 6 Section 1: Goals, objectives, and activities ………………………………………………………………………………..7 Goal #1: Strengthen multisectoral, One Health coordination and collaboration…………………. 7 Goal #2: Develop and strengthen surveillance […]

How can we improve awareness for antimicrobial resistance in Africa?

Date: Saturday, 21 November 2020Time: 18:30 SAST, CAT | 19:30 EAT | 17:30 WAT, CET | 16:30 BST | 12:30 ESTHashtag: #AfricaWAAWModerator: @hcsmAFRICA (Vanessa Carter) Join us for a 60-minute Twitter chat to share your views about how we can increase awareness for antimicrobial resistance in Africa. All stakeholders including healthcare professionals, civil society, policymakers, journalists, nurses, medical […]

Africa CDC Annual Progress Report 2019

CONTENTS THE YEAR IN BRIEF ……………………………………………………………………………………. 2 REGIONAL COLLABORATING CENTRES (RCCs) ……………………………………. 4 PUBLIC HEALTH INSTITUTES AND RESEARCH …………………………………….. 5 REGIONAL INTEGRATED SURVEILLANCE AND LABORATORY NETWORK (RISLNET) ………………………………………………………. 7 EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE …………………………………… 8 DISEASE OUTBREAK RESPONSE SUPPORT  TO MEMBER STATES ……. 9 LABORATORY SYSTEMS AND NETWORKS ………………………………………….. 13 SURVEILLANCE AND DISEASE INTELLIGENCE …………………………………… […]

Africa CDC COVID-19 Response Update, 31 May 2020

Graphic illustration of where we were with COVID-19 response as of 31 May 2020. 1- EPIDEMIOLOGIC UPDATE 2- EQUIPMENT SUPPORT TO MEMBER STATES 3- NUMBER OF HEALTHCARE WORKERS TRAINED 4- STRATEGIC ACTION UPDATE 5- PERSONNEL DEPLOYMENTS BY COUNTRY 6- AFRICA CDC TARGETS 7- COVID-19 tests conducted by Member States as of 31 July 2020  

Africa CDC Annual Progress Report 2018

Africa CDC Annual Progress Report 2018

Africa is advancing in its globalization agenda as efforts are being made to establish the Continental Free Trade Area, the Open Sky Agreement and other agreements by Member Countries. With the free movement of persons and goods in view, these initiatives will certainly impact public health across the continent. We need not wait until there […]