Regional Integrated Surveillance and Laboratory Network (RISLNET)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

The Regional Integrated Surveillance and Laboratory Network (RISLNET) was established by the Africa Centres for Disease Control and Prevention (Africa CDC) to coordinate and integrate all public health laboratory, surveillance and emergency response assets, including public health data, to effectively support prevention, rapid detection and response to current and emerging public health threats within defined geographic regions of Africa. RISLNET facilitates close networking among National Public Health Institutes (NPHIs), academic institutions, private and public laboratories, centres of excellence, non-governmental and civil society organisations, and veterinary networks for the development and implementation of regionally appropriate plans for antimicrobial resistance, pandemic preparedness, rapid response, etc. It promotes partnerships and collaboration on public health research, training, knowledge exchange and experience sharing at the regional level in Africa. 

RISLNET is integrated into the operations of the Africa CDC Regional Collaborating Centres (RCCs), hence, there will be five RISLNET networks hosted at the Central Africa, Eastern Africa, Northern Africa, Southern Africa and Western Africa RCCs. RISLNET Central Africa is hosted at the headquarters of the Central Africa RCC in Libreville, Gabon.

Features of RISLNET

RISLNET is coordinated by Africa CDC through its five Regional Collaborating Centres.

Agreement to establish RISLNET is determined and signed by Member States within a specific region and each regional RISLNET will elect their own executive committee members who will be responsible for directing activities of the network.borating Centres.

In coordination with Africa CDC and the RCCs, RISLNET will facilitate public health asset mapping, workforce development, laboratory system strengthening, human and animal health surveillance, one health and public health partnerships within the region.

Every public health partner in RISLNET will commit to sharing data, specimens, isolates, other biological materials, and information to support integration efforts at the regional level.

Each regional RISLNET will facilitate use by Member States and partners of the Extension for Community Healthcare Outcomes (ECHO) for knowledge sharing on specific subject areas.

About Central Africa RISLNET

RISLNET Central Africa was officially launched in Congo Brazzaville on 7 November 2018 by the Minister of Health of the Republic of Congo. It is the first RISLNET to be established and serves as a pilot from which lessons will be obtained for the establishment of RISLNET in other regions.

Objectives of RISLNET Central Africa

The objectives of RISLNET Central Africa are to:

  1. Ensure that each Member State in the Africa CDC Central Africa RCC has the capacity to rapidly detect, investigate, effectively respond to, and control disease outbreaks.
  2. Strengthen operational and technological communications and trust among countries in the Central Africa Region as a central tenet of regional surveillance networks. 
  3. Leverage the capacity and assets of partner networks across the region for greater public health impact. 
  4. Act as a catalyst for the introduction and uptake of new technologies and developments in public health for improved healthcare systems in the region. 
  5. Develop public health competencies for relevant frontline healthcare personnel, including training and skills building in such areas as applied epidemiology, bioinformatics, laboratory methods, surveillance, etc.
  6. Support the advancement and harmonization of surveillance and laboratory policies among Member States in the region.

RISLNET Central Africa Bureau Members

The Bureau is an organ of RISLNET Central Africa, which is responsible for coordinating the activities of all working groups, in consultation with the Regional Collaborating Centre in Libreville, Gabon. It is composed of the following five elected members:


RISLNET Central Africa

Africa CDC Regional Collaborating Centre for Central Africa Haut de Gué Gué, Cité des Nations Unies, Bloc H. Rue en face du Conseil Economique et Social Libreville, Gabon

Scroll to Top